Nepal at a glance

Nepal is a picturesque Himalayan country in South Asia, situated between China and India. Nepal is a country with a total area of 147,181 square kilometers. The country’s length is 885 kilometers east-west, while its width is between 145 to 241 kilometers north-south.

There are more than 59 different indigenous communities in the country. In Nepal, Hinduism and Buddhism are the two largest religions, and due to religious tolerance, diverse groups worship each other’s deities, celebrate festivals, and respect the ceremonies of both religious groups. Islam, Jainism, and Christianity are among the other religions practiced in Nepal.

Nepali is the national language and is extensively spoken throughout the country. Different ethnic groups, such as the Magar, Tamang, Tharu, Gurung, Newari, Maithali, Bhojpuri, Rai, Limbu, and Sherpa, each have their unique dialect.

Kathmandu, the busy capital city, is home to a variety of old temples, and Hinduism and Buddhism can be felt on every street corner.

Nepal joined the United Nations in 1955, and friendship treaties with India and China were inked in 1950 and 1960, respectively. The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC), of which Nepal is a founding member, has its permanent secretariat in Nepal.

Even though Nepal is mostly an agricultural country, tourism is the primary source of foreign revenue. Landscapes from south to north are famed for their nature-eco tourism.

The list of information about  Nepal at a glace is: